MCDC Celebrates 12 Years of Service

12th Anniversary Cake

This cake added a "sweet touch" to our event and the awards were beautiful as well!

On July 15, 2010 many well wishers and stakeholders gathered at the C.R. Neal Dream Center to commemorate the 12 year anniversary of MCDC. The event, which is held year on the anniversary date, also featured recognition of community partners who have collaborated over the years to help achieve our mission. Our emcee was the beautiful and talented Ms. Sharie Harvin of WLTX TV and guests included area community leaders, elected officials, and partnering agencies. Robin Chisolm, board chair, gave the welcome and occasion and the Revrand H. Michael Williams (board member) offered the invocation and blessing of the food.

After lunch, which was served by MCDC youth employees and summer camp students, awards were presented in four categories as follows:

Community Partner Award - SC Department of Social Services (DSS)
Community Advocate Award - Youth Voices of Lower Richland
Mission Award- Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS)and Andjenerrio Johnson
Volunteer of the Year Award - Experience Works

Special Recognition Awards were also presented to the family of the late Mr. Willie Washington who served on our board in 2009, and to Mr. Marcous Gardner, a current board member who is relocating after 3 years of outstanding service to MCDC.

Senator Darrell Jackson offered closing remarks, giving thanks to the board, staff, and community for making MCDC successful. Jackson said "As passionately as we worship in our church services at Bible Way Church, we are equally passionate about helping those who may never enter the church doors through our CDC".

Guests were also offered the opportunity to donate to MCDC as an anniversary gift. If you wish to donate, please visit our donation link on the main page.

To see other pictures from this wonderful event, please scroll down this page.

Program And Annual Report

Event Emcee

Sharie Harvin of WLTX TV did a fantastic job of hosting our event

Great Service!

Youth summer employees and summer camp participants provided first rate service for the meal during the luncheon.

2010 Community Partner Award Recipient

Staff members from the SC Department of Social Services were on hand to receive the award along with MCDC staff.

2010 Advocacy Award Recipient

Karen Dukes, CEO of Youth Voices of Lower Richland was on hand to receive the award along with Yonita Simmons (staff) and Dyniqua Jones (student).

2010 Mission Award Recipient

Director, Darren Martin (far right) and All Stars student Jessica Butler (far left) presented the first Mission Award to Harry Prim of the SC Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services for their longstanding support of the Total Recovery Network.

2010 Mission Award Recipient

Darren Martin (left) presents the second Mission Award to Andjenerrio Johnson (right) who provided exemplary support to the CEETP program in their production of "A Better Life" video, encouraging youth to remain drug free.

2010 Volunteer of the Year Award Recipient

Experience Works was presented with the award for providing over 3,000 hours of volunteer service since 2009. Pictured above are Pat Wise, Executive Director at Experience Works and four individuals placed at MCDC through this agency: Isaiah Tyler, Brendalyn Waymer, Texia Thorn, and Mary Dale Sanders.

Special Recognition

The family of Mr. Willie Washington was on hand to recieve a board resolution in his honor. Mr. Washington served on the board in 2009 until his untimely passing. Mrs. Washington (left) holds the resolution presented by MCDC Executive Director, Bill Loyd.

Special Recognition

Marcous Gardner (left) was honored with a presentation by Bill Loyd (right) for exemplary service to the MCDC board during his three year tenure.

Our Founder

Senator Darrell Jackson, Sr. gives closing remarks at the luncheon. Jackson started MCDC in 1998 as a division of the Bible Way Church of Atlas Road.

Meet Our Board

Pictured from left to right: Robin Chisolm-Davis, Bill Loyd, Marcous Gardner, Calvin Ellerbe, Nancy Johnson, Lisa Samuel, H. Michael Williams, Myrel Hayward and April Ruff. Not pictured: Jessie Stephenson, Melanie Joseph, Darrell Jackson, Calvin Jackson, Thomas Kennedy, and Ronnie Hopkins.